Georgia Use of Force & Firearms Carry Law
1005 Cobb Pl Blvd NW
Kennesaw, GA 30144
This is a 3 hour class designed to educate the student on the most current law pertaining to the use of force in Georgia and firearms carry within our state. Subjects covered will be:
Under code 16-11-129, to carry a handgun openly or concealed in the state of Georgia (other than on your property or inside your home, car, or place of business, you must have a Georgia Weapons Carry License. However, to carry a long gun you do not have to have a license to carry as long as you are not prohibited from owning a firearm.
We will also cover statutes related to the carrying of a firearm and Georgia’s reciprocity with other states. At the completion of this course the student will have a clearer understanding of their rights and responsibilities in regards to his/her self-defense in Georgia. Suggested class materials: notepad and pen.
Attendees will also have the opportunity to participate in scenarios on our Virtual Training Simulator to allow them to apply use of force decision-making and evaluate their actions in a safe environment.
At the completion of this course the student will have a clearer understanding of their rights and responsibilities in regards to their self-defense in Georgia. Suggested class materials: notepad and pen.
Upon completion of this course the student will receive a Certificate of Completion.
ONLY 8 SPOTS AVAILABLE.
Instructor: Buford Jones
Buford Jones is a Life Member of the NRA and certified NRA Pistol, Rifle, and Shotgun instructor. He served in the US Army, Georgia National Guard, and US Army Reserve for 24 years as Military Police, Investigator, and instructor for firearms and evasive driving before retiring from the service. He retired from the Cobb County Police Department in 2015 where he served as a patrol officer, training officer, P.O.S.T. firearms instructor, negotiator, investigator and supervisor.
He is currently employed as a police officer for a local school district and maintains his P.O.S.T Firearms Training Certification. He is a former Georgia National Guard Combat Pistol champion and has been instructing firearms safety and marksmanship for over 30 years.
By registering for this class, you are acknowledging that you are at least 18 years old and not legally prohibited from operating, possessing, transferring, or owning a firearm in the State of Georgia, as regulated by federal, state, and local laws. False notification or misrepresentation to legally possess firearms in the State of Georgia will result in student’s immediate removal from class and forfeiture of all course fees. By registering for this class, you are also hereby expressly assuming the risk of taking part in the course for instruction in firearms, and taking part in the activities, which include, but are not limited to, instruction in the use of firearms, the discharge of firearms, and the firing of live ammunition.
Cancellation and Refund Policy
All sales are final and no refunds are offered for any cancellations or missed classes. However, if you cancel at least 48 hours before the class, your registration and course fee can rollover to the next available class. Policy subject to change without notice. If you have any questions regarding this policy, contact us by clicking here.